Product Spotlight: Medjool Dates

Medjool Dates

I gave up dessert for lent. Every year I like to challenge myself to give up something for the 40 days of lent and for the past two I decided to give up dessert (baked goods, chocolate, candy, etc.) . When I am not eating added sugar I feel better; more energy, brighter skin, and overall healthier. But, it’s a challenge. I love chocolate and I am a total sweet tooth at night. So when the craving really hit for something sweet I was reaching for Medjool Dates, basically natures candy.

Medjool DatesThey are delicious on their own or smashed up with chia seeds and almond milk for a pudding style dessert. I’ve also read about delicious looking date shakes and i’m keen to try them out! Now that Easter has come and gone I have starting eating sugar again, but not like I used to. I am going to stick to my ritual of eating (for the most part, unless these cookies are in the room) natural dessert so I continue to feel better all throughout the year!

I buy my dates at Sprouts: the Extra Fancy/Fancy kind, which ever look the best, i’ve also found that dates with the pit in them usually are more flavorful than prepitted dates.

Extra Fancy Medjool dates

 

 

Leave a Reply

