Easter Picnic Ideas: My take on the Couscous Salad

Cous Cous Salad I love Easter because it’s one of the more relaxed holidays. D and I usually spend it with his family at Fountain Hills park and eat all day. For the past 2 years I have given up sweets so usually it’s a full on sugar day. But this year D and I will be in San Francisco. It will be the first time ever we are away for Easter. Although I love the picnic, I am ecstatic to be on a trip away with my Husband making our own memories as a family! Today, however, I am reminiscing about the Easter picnic food and what I would bring if I was going. I think picnics are hard because you want to bring something that not only will be devoured (It’s so horrible when you bring something that no one touches, and you take it home uneaten and sad) but, you also want something that’s easy to make and easy to transport. Not an easy task. This week I am going to be posting recipes of things I would bring to the Easter picnic, brunch, potluck, etc. If I was going! The first recipe is one of my favorite, healthy, easy, and super tasty tangy salads the tabouli salad. My take has orange zest and and crunchy sweet edamame. Cous Cous Salad Recipe (to feed 2-4 as a side dish) 3/4 C cous cous & water Edamame (frozen) Parsley Green Onion 2 garlic cloves, minced Lemon zest and juice Orange zest and juice salt pepper olive oil Cook Cous Cous according to directions on packet Steam edamame chop herbs (you can add fresh mint and dill if you have them on hand) and mince garlic, add shelled edamame beans, lemon zest and orange zest add to cous cous, stir in lemon and orange juice and olive oil, salt and pepper. What’s your favorite salad to bring to a pot luck?

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Eats: April 13-17 « Vivid Pantry


Leave a Reply

