In Season: End of March/April

German Farmers Market

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is shop the farmers markets. I like to get up early, before the crowd hits, and take my time looking at everything. My favorite farmers market is in Scottsdale , but I also like the one in downtown Phoenix (which stays open most of the year, unlike other markets)! Tomorrow I am going to venture to the Biltmore Union Farmers Market because it’s open on Wednesdays, and my Dad and brother are coming over for dinner. In the mean time here is a list of seasonal fruit and veg you can expect to find at the Phoenix farmers markets today.

March: Arugula, Asparagus, Beets, Bok Choy, Broccoli, Broccoli raab, Brussel sprouts, Cabbage, Carrots, Celeriac/celery root, Clementines, Garlic, Grapefruit, Green onion/scallions, Greens, Herbs, Kohlrabi, Leeks, Lemons, Lettuce, Oranges, Parsnips, Radishes, Rutabagas, Spinach, Strawberries, Sweet potatoes, Tangerines, Turnips, Zucchini Blossoms

April: Arugula, Asparagus, Beets, Cabbage, Carrots, Celeriac/celery root, Cucumbers, Garlic, Greens, Herbs, Leeks, Lemons, Lettuce, Onions, Peas, Potatoes, Radishes, Spinach, Squash (summer), Strawberries, Sweet Onions, Zucchini, Zucchini Blossoms

(source)

I am most excited to try out celeriac/celery root and Zucchini Blossoms. I have read that celeriac is especially delicious as a mash, and my Dad likes to put Zucchini Blossoms in frittatas!

One comment


Leave a Reply

